About the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board (LPRB)

  • Consists of 23 members (14 lawyers and 9 non-lawyer public members) appointed by the Minnesota Supreme Court.
  • Members can serve two 3-year terms.
  • Is responsible for oversight and administration of the Minnesota lawyer discipline system.
  • Has a five member executive committee which includes the Board Chair and Vice-Chair.
  • Is also divided into six three-member Panels which preside over proceedings concerning allegations of unprofessional conduct against lawyers.
  • Individual LPRB ​members are also appointed in rotation to consider appeals of dismissed complaints.
  • Meets four times per year to consider issues involving the lawyer discipline system, including rule changes and policy implementation.
​​For more information about the duties and time commitment involved in serving as a Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board member, please click Information for Prospective Board Members.

About the Office of Lawyers Professional Responsibility (OLPR)

  • An agency of the Minnesota Supreme Court established to handle complaints of unprofessional conduct against Minnesota lawyers.
  • Funded by the annual license fees paid by Minnesota lawyers.
  • Investigates and prosecutes complaints against attorneys warranting professional discipline.
  • In addition to handling complaints against lawyers, the OLPR also does a substantial amount of Continuing Legal Education for lawyers in the area of Professional Responsibility and Legal Ethics.
  • The Director is appointed by the Supreme Court.
  • Has 11 attorneys, 6 paralegals, 1 office administrator and 8 support staff.
  • Is located at 445 Minnesota Street, Suite 2400, St. Paul, Minnesota 55101-2139.
    Business hours are 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday.


About the District Ethics Committees (DECs)

  • Most of the initial investigations into complaints of lawyer misconduct are conducted by volunteer investigators in 21 District Ethics Committees (DECs) throughout the State.
  • DECs are made up of volunteer lawyers and non-lawyers.  At least 20% of each DEC must be non-lawyers.  DEC members may serve up to four 3-year terms. 
  • Over 300 volunteers serve on the DECs throughout the State.
  • DEC members investigate complaints and present a report and recommendation of their investigation to the DEC.  The DEC, in turn, considers the report, discusses it, and votes on the recommendation.
  • The DEC forwards the report and recommendation as adopted by the DEC to the Office of Lawyers Professional Responsibility for consideration and disposition. 
  • To inquire about joining your local DEC, contact the OLPR at (651) 296-3952 or email to DECCoordinator@courts.state.mn.us or the DEC chair for the district in which you live or work. Link to: DEC Roster & Map

About Us

445 Minnesota Street
Suite 2400
St. Paul, MN 55101-2139

Fax: 651-297-5801

TTY users call MN relay service toll free:

Business hours are 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday.

If you have a disability and anticipate needing an accommodation, please contact the Office at lprada@courts.state.mn.us or at 651-296-3952.  PLEASE USE THIS EMAIL ADDRESS FOR ADA REQUESTS ONLY. COMPLAINTS AGAINST ATTORNEYS MAY BE SUBMITTED BY CLICKING ON THE “FILE A COMPLAINT” BOX ON THE HOME PAGE. NON-ADA COMMUNICATIONS TO SUSAN HUMISTON SHOULD BE MAILED TO THE OFFICE ADDRESS OR EMAIL TO susan.humiston@courts.state.mn.us. All requests for accommodation will be given due consideration and may require an interactive process between the requestor and the Office of Lawyers Professional Responsibility to determine the best course of action.  If you believe you have been excluded from participating in, or denied benefits of, any Office of Lawyers Professional Responsibility services because of a disability, please visit www.mncourts.gov/ADAAccommodation.aspx for information on how to submit an ADA Grievance form.