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What does the lawyer discipline system have to do with the decision to practice law in a professional
corporation format?  What happens when an attorney fails to pay the annual registration fee on time?  Do
attorneys who have neglected to get their CLE credits completed by June 30th have to go to summer
school?  Unfortunately, a number of Minnesota attorneys have learned the hard way that regarding these
questions as mere administrative “details” can significantly affect the right to practice law in this state.

PROFESSIONAL CORPORATIONS

Minn. Stat. §481.02, subd, 2, provides that, with certain exceptions, a corporation organized for
pecuniary profit may not engage in the practice of law unless it is organized under Chapter 319A.  Chapter
319A, the Minnesota Professional Corporations Act, sets forth various requirements and principles
pertaining to professional corporations.Ftn 1  The provisions of the act apply in addition to other statutes
and regulations pertaining to corporate entities.

After filing their organization/incorporation documents with the Secretary of State’s Office, a
professional corporation, professional limited liability company, or professional limited liability partnership
must file a copy of these documents with the Lawyers Board.Ftn 2  The documents that must be filed are:

PROFESSIONAL CORPORATIONS:  a plain copy of the articles of incorporation containing the secretary of
state’s filing stamps and a plain copy of the certificate of incorporation issued by the secretary of state.

PROFESSIONAL LIMITED LIABILITY COMPANIES:  a plain copy of the articles of organization
containing the secretary of state’s filing stamps and a plain copy of the certificate of organization issued by
the secretary of state.

PROFESSIONAL LIMITED LIABILITY PARTNERSHIPS:  a plain copy of the registration statement
containing the secretary of state’s filing stamps.

A professional corporation may not commence doing business until it has filed the required
documentation with the Lawyers Board.  All documents require proof of filing by way of the secretary of
state’s filing stamps.  Recognizing that there is customarily a lag time between when the documents are
filed with the secretary of state and when the documents are returned stamped and with a certificate, the
Board will temporarily accept a plain, unstamped copy of the articles or registration statement until such
time as the stamped copies are received.

Minn. Stat. §319A.21 also requires that all professional corporations shall file annually, on or before
January 1, a report with the board having jurisdiction over them.  (For lawyers, this is the Lawyers Board.) 



Minn. Stat. §310A.20 provides that the Board may seek to suspend or revoke the charter of corporations that
fail to comply with the provisions of the Professional Corporations Act.  It is the Board’s practice to mail an
annual report form to all professional corporations on record in November of each year.  Please note the
following (helpful) suggestions:

¦  This report must be completed and filed by all professional corporations regardless of
whether they actively conducted business during the year or the length of time they were in
business during the year.

¦  The report must be notarized.Ftn 3
¦  Each report must be accompanied by a filing fee of $100 for the first year of

incorporation and $25 per year thereafter.Ftn 4

The reporting obligation exists as long as the corporation exists.  In order to eliminate the reporting
requirement, the corporation must obtain a Certificate of dissolution issued by the secretary of state
indicating that the corporation has been dissolved.  A notice of intent to dissolve is not the same thing and
does not eliminate the obligation to file the annual reports and pay the filing fees.  Another way to avoid the
annual reporting process is to amend the articles of incorporation, pursuant to Minn. Stat. §319A.12, subd.
1a, to relinquish the powers and privileges conferred by the Professional Corporations Act and elect to be
governed solely by the provisions of Chapters 302A, 317A, 322B or 323.  Please note, however, that the
corporation can then no longer practice law. 

Professional corporations that have been engaged in the practice of law but that have not yet filed
with the Lawyers Board may file their articles or registration statements without the imposition of a
penalty.  Back-due reports and filing fees will, however, have to be submitted.

ATTORNEY REGISTRATION FEES

Every attorney admitted to practice law in Minnesota is required to pay the annual registration fee.  Rule 3,
Rules for Registration of Attorneys, provides that failure to pay the annual fee automatically suspends the
right to practice in Minnesota.  Importantly, failure to comply with such administrative “details” can have
disciplinary consequences.  Practice while suspended for nonpayment of the fee is a disciplinary offense.  In
re Wertz, 442 N.W.2d 781 (Minn. 1989) (90-day disciplinary suspension and payment of $750 in costs).

Paying annual attorney registration fees is not something lawyers generally spend time thinking
about until the fee statement arrives on the desk.  If the attorney has changed locations, does not receive the
statement, and hence does not pay, what happens?  The answer is still automatic suspension.  Failure to
receive the registration fee statement does not excuse payment of the fee.  Rule 4, Rules for Registration of
Attorneys.  The rule requires all attorneys to notify the clerk of appellate courts immediately of any change
in address.  Put “notification of address change to the clerk of appellate courts” on top of the “to-do” list
when changing firms.  Don’t wait until briefing orders or decisions are sent to the wrong address, or worse.

CLE COMPLIANCE

Every Minnesota attorney is required to report to the continuing legal education board every three years
that they have completed a minimum of 45 hours of continuing legal education courses approved by that
board.  Rule 4, Rules for Continuing Legal Education, provides that failure to file the report shall result in
referral to the Supreme Court for appropriate disposition.  The disposition generally imposed by the Court
is a transfer to “restricted status.”



Rule 3, Rules for Continuing Legal Education, defines restricted status as that of “one who may not
represent any person in any legal matter or proceedings within the State of Minnesota other than himself
except a spouse, son, daughter, father, mother, brother, sister, father-in-law, mother-in-law, brother-in-law
or sister-in-law.”  The CLE requirements also have teeth that are occasionally enforced by the discipline
system.  Attorneys have been publicly disciplined for practicing in violation of the restricted status
conditions.  In re Beman, 451 N.W.2d 647 (Minn. 1990) (90-day suspension); In re Holmay, 464 N.W.2d 723
(Minn. 1991) (18 months/including false notarization).

Paying attention to the details of a client’s case is de rigueur for lawyers.  Paying attention to the
administrative details of being a lawyer should be so also.

NOTES
1 The act defines professional corporations to include corporations organized under Chapters 302A and 317A, limited liability companies
organized under Chapter 322B, and limited liability partnerships.  See Minn. Stat. §319A.02, subd, 7, and §319A.03.
2 Minn. Stat. §319A.08 provides that “no professional corporation shall begin to render professional service in the State of Minnesota until it has
filed with each board having jurisdiction of professional service of a type which the corporation is authorized to render a copy of its articles of
incorporation, except that a limited liability company shall instead file a copy of its articles of organization and a limited liability partnership shall
instead file a copy of its registration with the secretary of state pursuant to section 323.44.”
3 Every year at least one report, usually more, is returned to the Board notarized but not signed.  Think about it.  Try not to send the Board,
which prosecutes improper notary practices, definitive proof of a violation of the MRPC.
4 Every year the Board also receives at least one filing fee check drawn on the trust account of the professional corporation doing the filing.  While
this is not necessarily definitive proof of misappropriation of clients funds from the trust account and/or commingling, it will at least cause the
Board to write and inquire as to why office expenses are being paid with funds from the client trust account.
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