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Did you know that a legal entity cannot engage in the practice of law in 

Minnesota unless it is organized under the Minnesota Professional Firms Act 
(MPFA)?Ftn1 Did you know that no firm can provide legal services in Minnesota unless 
that firm has invoked the requirement of the act and filed certain documents with the 
board exercising jurisdiction over the professional firm?Ftn2 Did you further know that 
the Office of Lawyers Professional Responsibility, on behalf of the Lawyers Professional 
Responsibility Board, is charged with monitoring firms’ compliance with the act?Ftn3  

I suspect that many of you may not have known, and are now wondering 
whether someone has taken care of this for your legal entity. If you do not know, now is 
the time to take a minute to confirm that someone has been addressing this for your 
firm. If you just checked and no one has any idea what you are talking about, take 
heart! It is fairly easy to bring your firm into compliance with the law, and with the 
annual filing deadline approaching, now is the perfect time to review your firm’s 
compliance.  

The law 

The MPFA can be found in Chapter 319B. Please take a minute to review the act. 
Since 1973, Minnesota state law has required all corporations, limited liability 
companies, and limited liability partnerships that provide legal services in Minnesota—
whether organized under the law of Minnesota or another state—to file an initial report 
before offering services, and annual reports thereafter by the first of each calendar 
year.Ftn4 The act does not apply to sole proprietorships. The initial report is 
straightforward, and can be found at our website (lprb.mncourts.gov) by selecting 
Professional Firms from the Lawyer Resources tab. You must include with this form the 
applicable organization document(s), which demonstrate that the firm has elected to 
invoke the act to provide specified professional services. The first-time fee is $100. 

Even though the first report is straightforward (it has only five questions), the 
inability of filers to accurately complete this first report continues to surprise our staff. 
Some tips: Make sure you enclosed the required document(s), which must denote on its 
face that it has also been filed with the Secretary of State or with accompanying proof of 
filing with the Secretary of State. Use the name of your firm as registered with the 
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Secretary of State; do not file under an assumed name and make sure your firm name 
has the required name endings as specified by the act—we check.Ftn5 The first report 
must be signed by an owner of the firm who is a licensed attorney; non-lawyers cannot 
sign the report. (Non-lawyers or other disqualified individuals also cannot have an 
ownership interest in the firm.Ftn6) The signature should be notarized, since statements 
are being made under oath.  

Thereafter, on an annual basis before January 1, the firm must file a report with 
this Office on the form specified, along with a $25 annual fee. You must file this annual 
report even if no legal services were provided in the year; the filing obligation continues 
while the entity remains in legal existence. The annual report is also straightforward; it 
only contains six questions. It is very similar to the initial report and the same tips 
apply. Once you have filed a first report, every November the Office will helpfully mail 
you an annual report to complete before the January 1 deadline. That’s it—all there is to 
it!  

What if I don’t file as required? 

If you have inadvertently overlooked this legal requirement, please act now. You 
cannot fix what has already occurred, but you can bring your firm into compliance. For 
those of you who like to live on the edge, let me offer you some thoughts on 
compliance. Beyond the obvious fact that your firm is violating state law (and engaged 
in the unauthorized practice of law—a misdemeanor), there are some potential practical 
ramifications you may wish to take into consideration as well. In an unpublished 
decision, the Minnesota Court of Appeals upheld a trial court’s decision to hold an 
individual owner liable for the law firm debt, due in part to the fact that the owner had 
misrepresented his corporate status as compliant with Minnesota law.Ftn7 Similarly, in 
California, a law firm was unable to enforce its fee agreements in a tortious interference 
action because it was not lawfully registered as a law corporation under California’s 
law corporation statute.Ftn8 Who wants to risk personal liability, or powerlessness to 
collect fees, when compliance is so straightforward? You should know that information 
filed by the professional firm is public data under the Minnesota Data Practices Act, and 
thus accessible to those who care to request it.Ftn9  

Conclusion 

Only duly organized professional firms should be providing legal services in 
Minnesota. Ownership of professional firms is limited to licensed professionals, and the 
filing requirements, which include disclosure of ownership interests, help this Office 
maintain oversight of this requirement. While it may involve a bit of annual busywork, 
this act (which covers not only legal services but other professional services such as 
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engineering, social work, dentistry, and accounting) has been in place for several 
decades and deserves your attention. If you have any questions regarding required 
filings, please review the information at our website or call the Office at 651-296-3952, 
and ask to speak with our professional firms staff.  
 
 Notes 

1. See Minn. Stat. § 481.02, subd. 2 (2017) (providing no corporation organized for 
pecuniary profit may give legal advice or otherwise engage in the practice of law 
by or through its officers or employees unless organized as a professional firm).  

2. Minn. Stat. § 319B.11, subd. 3 (2017). 
3. Minn. Stat. § 319B.02, subd. 2 (2017). 
4. Minn. Stat. § 319B.02, subd. 10 (2017); Minn. Stat. § 319B.04, subd. 2 (2017). 
5. Minn. Stat. § 319B.05, subd. 2 (2017). 
6. Minn. Stat. § 319B.07 (2017). 
7. Miles v. Cohen, 1999 WL 451336 (Minn. 7/6/1999). 
8. Cappiello v. Boyle, 87 Cal.App.4th 1064 (2001). 
9. Minn. Stat. § 319B.11, subd. 8 (2017). 
 


