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Practicing law without
liability insurance

recently fielded a question from a trial court judge asking

if it was ethical to engage in private practice in Minnesota

without malpractice insurance. The answer: yes. The

questioner was a bit incredulous at the answer—as [ admit
I was before taking this job. I always assumed that everyone in
private practice carried malpractice insurance. Sure, govern-
ment lawyers probably did not, and I could see where in-house
counsel did not need insurance, but of course everyone else was
required to carry insurance, right? Nope.

This is true in all U.S. states save two: Oregon and Idaho.
The U.S. stands in stark contrast to its international peers in
this regard. Most developed countries require some form of
professional liability insurance for lawyers in private practice.
All Australian states, all Canadian provinces and territories,
most of the European Union, and several Asian countries
require varying levels of insurance.! The required insurance
in those countries is usually not de minimus, either: Minimum
coverage in Australia is $1.5 million AUS; British Columbia, $1
million CAN; England and Wales, 2 million; and Singapore,

1 million SGD. In contrast, the minimum coverage in Oregon
is $300,000 per occurrence/$300,000 aggregate, and in Idaho,
$100,000 per occurrence/$300,000 aggregate. This is fascinat-
ing to me given the old saw about how litigious America is
compared to other developed countries.

Disclosure requirements

While Minnesota does not require malpractice insurance,
we do require attorneys in private practice to disclose in their
annual registration statement whether they carry professional
liability insurance, and the name of the
provider.? In 2004, the American Bar
Association adopted a model rule on
insurance disclosure. Thereafter, Min-
nesota and 23 other states enacted some
form of disclosure requirement, and
that information can be found by legal
consumers in Minnesota, should they
know to look, on Minnesota’s lawyer
registration website.’ [ am particularly
intrigued, however, by the seven states
that chose to adopt a requirement of
direct disclosure to clients. Since 1999,
for example, South Dakota’s ethics
rules have required attorneys who do
not carry at least $100,000 per claim in
liability insurance to disclose that fact to
their clients in every written communi-
cation.*
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collected in Minnesota as of August 2019, of the 12,995 lawyers
who disclosed on their annual registration that they represent
private clients, 10,715 (82.45 percent) disclosed they carry
liability insurance, leaving 17.55 percent uncovered. Due to
data limitations, we do not know the types of practices those
uninsured lawyers maintain. Are they solo or small firm practi-
tioners? Do they mainly handle personal claims for individual
legal consumers? Illinois estimates that as many as 40 percent of
solo lawyers are uninsured. In a 2017 survey in Washington, 28
percent of solo practitioners reported being uninsured.’

[ was curious to see if there was any correlation between un-
insured lawyers and discipline, so we pulled some quick num-
bers. Just looking at 2019 public discipline: Of the 25 lawyers
publicly disciplined this year, only 8 (32 percent) reported car-
rying insurance when they last updated their annual registra-
tion. Because Minnesota does not retain malpractice disclosure
information year over year, we were unable to look at whether
the attorney carried coverage at the time of the misconduct.

Another interesting but perhaps not surprising statistic is
that solo and small firm practitioners represent a dispropor-
tionate share of malpractice claims, according to the ABA
Profile of Legal Malpractice Claims (2012-2015).6 For that
period, insurers who participated in the survey reported that 34
percent of claims were against solo practitioners and 32 percent
were against firms with two to five lawyers, for a total of over
65 percent of claims against firms with five or fewer lawyers!
From a public protection perspective, this is not a comforting
story: The segment of lawyers with the highest percentage of
malpractice claims against them also report a higher lack of
insurance.

The current landscape

Perhaps because of numbers like these, several states have
taken up efforts to study the issue of mandatory malpractice
insurance. As noted, only Oregon and Idaho require coverage
for lawyers in private practice. Oregon has required insurance
since 1977, and provides insurance through a shared risk pool.
All Oregon lawyers who are not exempt pay $3,300 annually
to the Fund, and receive coverage of $300,000 per occur-
rence/$300,000 in aggregate, with no deductible, and $50,000
in annual covered defense costs.” Idaho became the second
U.S. jurisdiction to require insurance on January 1, 2018. Idaho
lawyers who represent private clients must carry $100,000 per
occurrence/$300,000 in aggregate, and must submit proof of
insurance to renew their licenses.

Several other states have recently formed task forces to
look at mandatory malpractice, and have seen their efforts
stymied in large part by factions of the bar militantly opposed
to required coverage. The Washington state bar (a unified bar)
recently rejected a recommendation for mandatory insurance,
despite a unanimous task force recommendation in favor of
requiring coverage. This is particularly interesting (or hypo-
critical?) in view of the requirement that Washington’s limited
license legal technicians must carry insurance.
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The Nevada state bar petitioned the
Nevada Supreme Court in 2018 to re-
quire malpractice coverage, but portions
of the bar objected, and the Nevada
Supreme Court denied the petition on
the grounds that inadequate detail or
support for the rule change was pro-
vided. In 2017 California’s legislature
required the bar to form a working group
to study the issue. That working group
recently recommended against manda-
tory insurance absent further data, but
recommended further study of broader
disclosure requirements.

linois has gone in a different direc-
tion. Beginning in 2017, lawyers who
do not carry malpractice insurance but
represent private clients must complete
a four-hour online risk-management
course every two years. This course helps
lawyers identify risk areas in their prac-
tice and offers suggestions for improve-
ment.

The factors that augur for requiring
insurance are largely obvious, and were
articulated in a recent article in this
magazine in July 2019.8 Such a mandate
ensures meaningful remedies in cases
of malpractice—and lawyers do make
mistakes. It strengthens the reputation
of the profession and protects lawyer’s
assets. It also strengthens the profes-
sion—lawyers with insurance have better
access to risk management assistance
and continual learning, including
remediation services when things do go
wrong. It also promotes self-regulation,
and to me, it is an obligation inherent
in a self-regulated profession: We have a
responsibility to ensure that consumers
of legal services are financially protected
when mistakes are made.

Those opposed to mandatory insur-
ance have cited the fact that there is no
proof that there is harm going un-reme-
died. They also argue that any require-
ment would encourage litigation against
lawyers; that the cost of insurance can
be prohibitive; that a lawyer may be
uninsurable (though reportedly all Idaho
lawyers who sought coverage obtained
it); and that it could discourage pro bono
or low bono work—a presumably cost-
related argument. And the libertarians
among us see most, if not all, regulation
as harmful.

Conclusion
I have spoken with other judges who
are just as surprised as the above caller
that lawyers are not ethically required to
carry insurance in private practice. The
more [ look at the issue, however, I am
not surprised that lawyers have success-
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fully lobbied against such a requirement
to date. Minnesota does not require doc-
tors to carry liability insurance, either.
While many do because of hospital or
health plan requirements, it is not a
requirement of licensure.” But ultimately
I agree with the (rejected) conclusion of
the Washington State Task Force, after
its extremely thorough and thoughtful
review of the matter, that “[a] license

to practice law is a privilege, and every
lawyer engaged in the business of provid-
ing legal services should be financially
responsible for the effects of his or her
own mistakes.”'® Because the task force
ultimately concluded that legal liabil-

ity insurance is generally affordable,
available, and the right thing to do, it
should be required in a profession that is
regulated in the public interest. A
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